Russell Howard: ‘It’s only right-wing fuck-knuckles that grab the public’s attention’

‘We’ve never been more divided’

Nigel Farage, Russell Howard and Theresa May
Nigel Farage, Russell Howard and Theresa May

Russell Howard has spoken out about the current state of politics, saying that it’s ‘only right-wing fuck-knuckles that grab the public’s attention.

The ‘Good News’ comedian is currently on tour, and has been left in a state of dismay in the wake of Brexit, Donald Trump’s presidency and the rise of the far right.

Speaking of the inspiration behind his current stand-up tour, Howard told NME: “It’s mostly politics and anger at the moment. I don’t think we’ve ever been more divided. It’s only right-wing fuck-knuckles that grab the public’s attention – Farage or Trump or Le Pen or Wilders from Holland. You think: ‘Where are our Gandhis? Where are our Martin Luther Kings?’”

He continued: “I think all our leaders are utterly beneath us. You just watch Prime Minister’s Questions and go: ‘How is this the best that we’ve got?’”

He also said that he was once approached by some political parties for advice on talking to young people.

“They interrupted when I was watching ‘The Secret Lives of Pets’,” Howard told NME. “Like, I am not the go-to person to fix this country. You know you’re in real trouble when you’re thinking: ‘OK, ask that bloke of the telly, see what he can thinks.’ Where does that fucking end up – door-stepping Joey Essex? Like, ‘Alright, he wants inflatables. Can we get some?’”

Meanwhile, Russell Howard’s remaining UK and Ireland ‘Round The World’ tour dates are below. Tickets are available here.

Sun March 05 2017 – LONDON Royal Albert Hall
Mon March 06 2017 – LONDON Royal Albert Hall
Tue March 07 2017 – LONDON Royal Albert Hall
Wed March 08 2017 – LONDON Royal Albert Hall
Thu March 09 2017 – LONDON Royal Albert Hall
Fri March 10 2017 – LONDON Royal Albert Hall
Mon March 13 2017 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
Tue March 14 2017 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
Wed March 15 2017 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
Fri March 17 2017 – BIRMINGHAM Genting Arena
Sat March 18 2017 – BIRMINGHAM Genting Arena
Tue March 21 2017 – GLASGOW SSE Hydro
Wed March 22 2017 – ABERDEEN Aberdeen AECC GE Oil & Gas Arena
Thu March 23 2017 – ABERDEEN Aberdeen AECC GE Oil & Gas Arena
Fri March 24 2017 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE Newcastle Metro Radio Arena
Sat March 25 2017 – NOTTINGHAM Motorpoint Arena
Sun March 26 2017 – NOTTINGHAM Motorpoint Arena
Tue March 28 2017 – BELFAST SSE Arena Belfast
Thu March 30 2017 – LIVERPOOL Liverpool Echo Arena
Fri March 31 2017 – MANCHESTER Arena
Mon April 03 2017 – BOURNEMOUTH Windsor Hall (BIC)
Tue April 04 2017 – BOURNEMOUTH Windsor Hall (BIC)
Wed April 05 2017 – BOURNEMOUTH Windsor Hall (BIC)
Fri April 07 2017 – SHEFFIELD Sheffield Arena
Sun April 09 2017 – LEEDS first direct Arena

The post Russell Howard: ‘It’s only right-wing fuck-knuckles that grab the public’s attention’ appeared first on NME.

Powered by WPeMatico